So, for the most part, the majority of my photographic subjects are usually A. my children, B. lanscapes, or C. flora/fauna – The areas I feel a draw to, at home with. So when I got a special request to take a few photos of a man I was a little hesitant.

I have only done this a couple of times, and in very controlled classroom settings, so I was a little nervous. Would I be able to offer posing suggestions that were masculine? Would he feel comfortable with me? Would I be able to connect with him and pick up on his mood or nature, what makes him, him?

So he arrives and we have a little small talk, I find out he has brought a prop. His beautiful guitar, his prize possession, the baby that he hand built. Great! I love props and this should help build a connection between us because I love music! A long story short, I had a really great time. And I think he did too. We were able to get to know each other, have some laughs, and I now have a new guitar instructor.

Classic headshot.

Classic headshot.

Casual shot with prop.

Dramatic black and white.

Dramatic black and white.

